What is the benefit of a minor in Computational Science?

A minor in computational science through the Ralph Regula School of Computational Science will provide students who already have expertise in science and engineering with skills they can use to complete computationally based projects. Further, the draft competencies created by the participating faculty have been reviewed and approved by a business advisory committee, meaning that when you enter the workforce with this background, you will have the specific skills sought by employers.

How does the minor program curriculum work?

The final curriculum is being approved at each of the participating institutions, but all programs will consist of the same core courses and topics.

What courses are being offered this year?

A full list of the courses being offered in the current academic year, the offering institution and the schedule for the course at that institution is available. The list also provides the name of a program advisor on each campus with whom you can speak about the program, to get help with registration, etc.

How do I register for a course?

If you find a course offered at your home institution, you simply register for it in the normal way. If you want to register for a course being offered at another institution, please refer to the remote registration instructions and remote registration form. No matter where the courses are taught, students at any of the participating institutions can register for any of the courses that are part of the minor program. You register and pay tuition at your home institution, but can take any of the courses – because most of them are taught as distance learning courses. The only difference is that courses run on the schedule of the teaching institution (quarter or semester), which might be different than the one at your university.

Is my campus participating in the minor program this year?

The following institutions are participating in the Ralph Regula School minor program, beginning with the Fall 2007 term:

Participating Institutions and Locations

Capital University, Columbus

Central State University, Wilberforce

Columbus State Community College, Columbus

Kent State University, Kent

Miami University, Oxford

The Ohio State University, Columbus

Ohio University, Athens

Owens Community College, Toledo

Sinclair Community College, Dayton

Stark State Community College, North Canton

University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati

Wittenberg University, Springfield

Wright State University, Dayton

How was the Computational Science minor program developed?

The Ralph Regula School has focused on developing a minor program because it is believed that each student needs some domain expertise in a major field before being able to complete computationally-based projects in related areas